[Creature Suggestion: Lunatis ]

in Fan Art & Creature Suggestions

1,122 posts

iceiceice • 11 September 2014 at 5:57 PM

#creaturesuggestion

This is my first time attempting to suggest a creature ;-; Apologies if I am doing this incorrectly. Any criticism, comments, etc are appreciated. ^^;

[Concept "Art" (Not colored)]
Link 1: http://tinyurl.com/lmnwauw
Link 2: http://imgur.com/lWK5M3w

[Inspiration]
Sea slugs are absolutely gorgeous. This particular one is based off of the Glaucus Atlanticus and I used this species for reference.

~ Glaucus Atlanticus :http://tinyurl.com/k3atjg9

[ Egg Description ]
Lunatis eggs are rather cool, gel-like texture if held. Handlers must hold the eggs carefully, for if it is held too tight, the handler's hand will slowly sink into to the squishy membrane.

Furthermore, handlers are advised to be cautious to avoid the venomous appendages on their side. Contact with the poisonous bard may result an uncomfortable stinging sensation and irritation to the skin. The consumption in their venom can result in sickness, and in some cases, death.

Ironically, scientist have found certain chemicals in their toxin can be used in medicine and treatment for rare diseases, if modified and applied correctly.

[More about the Lunatis ]
During cooler weather, Lunatis usually reside in sea caves, living near the shallow ends. Sometimes they are found resting on the surface of rocks pools. However, in the summer, they tend migrate to the deeper end of the sea.

Despite their striking form and bold colors, Lunatis are known to be quite venomous and even deadly.

They are reclusive critters in the daylight, brazenly resting in shallow waters, flashing their bright blue warnings at lurking predators.