I think my computer has a virus? D8

in Chit-Chat

Gender Fluid
3,907 posts

     

dreamer • 15 March 2012 at 8:22 PM

I dunno, but here's my concern:

Every once in a while I get a popup on the bottom of the screen asking me if I want to download something or save something on my computer. I forget what the file was called, but it says it's from wtp100.com and it sounds suspicious.

I keep hitting cancel, and it comes up every half hour, but I'm a little nervous. O_o Does anyone know what I can do?

7,923 posts

     

hayz • 15 March 2012 at 8:22 PM

Are you using IE?

@dreamer

Just asking.

Female
10,213 posts

     

hay7199 • 15 March 2012 at 8:23 PM

I dont and it happens to me 2

Gender Fluid
3,907 posts

     

dreamer • 15 March 2012 at 8:23 PM

@Hayz *headdesk* That has nothing to do with it, but... Yes. I ran a quick-scan on Norton earlier but it said it didn't find any viruses or spyware. The popups still came up afterwards though...

Deleted • 15 March 2012 at 8:26 PM

@dreamer It's happening to me, too! D:
It's only on this site, though... o__o

Deleted • 15 March 2012 at 8:27 PM

@dreamer I had the same thing but it stopped...

Gender Fluid
3,907 posts

     

dreamer • 15 March 2012 at 8:27 PM

I see some other people are getting this popup? So I'm not the only one? I really hope this isn't malicious at all...

Female
1,347 posts

     

silverserpent • 15 March 2012 at 8:32 PM

@dreamer I don't get any popups on Egg Cave, but maybe you should make a Ticket about it in case it is some suspicious link or something? :/

As long as you don't download anything you should be fine though. 😊

Deleted • 15 March 2012 at 8:34 PM

@dreamer ask a computer technician about it. It could be spyware. Spyware could be non-detectable so it's better to be safe. ^^
I got a really bad spyware before. .-. It kept openning tabs before and it wouldn't stop

Or maybe it's because of eggcave. >_> i'm not getting them cause i use ipad

Female
2,307 posts

     

lizardfeather • 15 March 2012 at 8:34 PM

@dreamer

http://www.pcsafedoctor.com/dll-errors/WTP100.dll.html

It /might/ be a virus disguised as a safe file, and it might have something to do with a popup on this site or something if others are getting it...

I haven't and I'm running a mac which those things never target... so IDK that article is helpful though 😸 Try running a virus scan if your computer is acting up

DONT DOWNLOAD IT. You shouldn't have a problem if you don't xD

EDIT: I saw you ran the virus scan... it probably wouldn't find anything because you haven't pressed download (on the suspicious file) xD

4,672 posts

     

icymuffin • 16 March 2012 at 3:05 AM

@dreamer
At first I thought you might have a virus, but I got that exact pop-up myself just now as I went to the cave.
My comp. says that it's still being protected, firewall and all and no virus whatsoever...


Mm~ I find it's strange that it's only on Egg Cave... Maybe there is a certain page everyone is seeing it on?
{Not that I know if it would make any difference if we knew that ^^" }

Female
2,115 posts

     

dionaea • 16 March 2012 at 3:56 AM

Hmmm... I haven't seen any, but then again I have Ghostery blocking all ads on here (sorry Ian, but I think since I buy CC that's plenty you earn form me). Anyway, I doubt anything is actually wrong if you haven't clicked to download it. If you're really worried try finding an anti spyware scanner. Also the popup is probably related to an ad somewhere on here, which would make it difficult to pinpoint an exact page.

Reply