[Summer/Beach/Water] Creature Suggestion: Shorus

in Fan Art & Creature Suggestions

Female
3,806 posts

sparklefox • 28 March 2024 at 1:06 PM

A dumb little idea I've had for a decent while, so I finally got the confidence to doodle it and make a thread. Please excuse the bad walrus anatomy on the image, and the crappy attempt at making them look sandy (just noting that I'm not an artist and I'm sorry).
Tried my best to convey the idea that the eyes are also just sand, but I'm not sure of how it ended up turning out.

"Shorus" is just simply shore + walrus.

Image: https://ibb.co/VMPx6rF

Egg Description:
Despite having a very dry appearance, they feel exactly like wet, cold sand to the touch. The smell of a salty breeze follows these eggs wherever they go. Seashells are collected by the parents and attached onto the sandy "shell" as a form of protection.
Shorus eggs "hatch" by suddenly collapsing into a heap of sand on the ground. From there, the newborn creature will dig itself out of the sand pile with its flippers - though it's also perfectly safe for the owner of a Shorus to lift the baby out themselves.

Creature Description:
A walking sand sculpture, or...? Rumour has it that the Shorus is a small piece of Ark's beaches given life by a magical spell, though others say a wandering spirit decided to use some beach sand to give itself a physical form. But whatever they truly are, they're a strange case indeed. With no internal organs in sight, their bodies are composed entirely of beach sand and salty seawater - with the water side gradually taking over the sandy side as they grow older.
Their heads appear to have facial features at first, but look closer and one will notice that they're nothing more than engravings within the sand. Are they perhaps created by the Shorus itself to appear more approachable? Some Shoruses can learn to move their "eyes" by magically shifting the sand around.