[October/Halloween?] Creature Suggestion: Stritten

in Fan Art & Creature Suggestions

Female
3,804 posts

sparklefox • 28 August 2021 at 8:10 PM

(Not going to write this entire thing in italics because it'll probably look obnoxious.)

Sometimes I get stupid ideas on creature suggestions (emphasis on stupid here), but the thought of actually submitting them is terrifying. This time I'm forcing myself out of my comfort zone to show one of them. I'm anything but an artist so it looks kinda bad, sorry. I had October in mind when making it, but I'm not sure if it would fit.

Stritten = Strix (a genus of owls) + Kitten, I'm not that good at coming up with names so please forgive me. Both cats and owls are often associated with Halloween.

Image: https://i.imgur.com/c6GXiUi.png

Egg Description:
Stritten eggs are covered in a rather large amount of feathers, which help to keep them warm as they develop. Near the top of the egg sits two larger feathers that stick out almost like ears.
A short while after these eggs are laid, one can observe the mother bird brushing her wings against these two feathers. This is because Stritten hatchlings, as strange as it sounds, imprint on the first thing that touches these feathers. It's currently unknown how they can even tell who or what even made contact with them.

Creature Description:
Strittens are seldom seen during the day, preferring to prowl the forests during the dead of night. Thanks to their specially adapted feathers, their movements are almost completely silent. This ability combined with their excellent senses means that these birds are masters at stealth. Their dark feathers allow them to blend in easily amongst the shadows.