[Winter] Creature Suggestion: Parfridge

in Fan Art & Creature Suggestions

Female
3,793 posts

sparklefox • 16 September 2022 at 8:31 AM

Had this dumb idea sitting around for quite a few months now, gonna bite the bullet and make a thread even if it's pretty stupid. I guess it could also maybe work as a Christmas creature because "partridge in a pear tree"? But that's a stretch and a half because it doesn't exactly look Christmassy.

Parfridge = Partridge + Frigid
(Silly name, I know.)

Image: https://i.imgur.com/e9jDiTt.png
(Please forgive the bad attempt at ice/snow. I'm not an artist...)

Egg Description:
Who would've known that an egg could be made entirely of solid ice? These eggs start out rather transparent and thin, to the point where one could see a silhouette of the foetus inside. As the creature inside grows, the "shell" thickens and gradually becomes opaque.
Parfridge require freezing cold temperatures in order to healthily develop. It's not uncommon to see Parfridge mothers coating their icy offspring in snow to ensure they stay as cold as possible. Parfridge nests, hidden deep within evergreen trees, only ever seem to appear in the most blizzard-ridden parts of the island.

Creature Description:
Parfridge hatchlings are a rather odd case. The eggs don't truly "hatch" per say, but the ice around the egg at hatching time slowly morphs into a shape that can only be described as a combination of bird and snowman. Inside this shape is the baby Parfridge, safely growing out of harm's way. How a Parfridge hatchling keeps itself sustained whilst sealed within thick ice is currently unknown, but it's been theorised that the surrounding ice has special properties and the bird absorbs vital nutrients from it.
Eventually, when it has become much more bird-shaped, the ice will suddenly begin to melt away. This is the nearly adult Parfridge emerging from its frozen casing, ready to spread its wings and roam around the wintry lands of Southern Ark.